The state of Arkansas has updated its car seat laws for the year 2021. The purpose of these laws is to ensure the safety of young passengers in vehicles. The new regulations define when and how children should be safely buckled up in their car seats based on their age and weight. In this article, we will explore the new car seat laws in Arkansas for 2021 and provide important information on what parents and caregivers should know.

Changes to the Arkansas Car Seat Laws

The new Arkansas law states that all children under the age of two and weighing less than 20 lbs. must be secured in a rear-facing car seat. This legislation is consistent with the recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics that children should stay rear-facing until at least the age of two, or until they surpass the height and weight limits specified by the car seat manufacturer.

For children over age two, the law no longer recommends a specific type of car seat, as long as the child is within the weight and height range of the seat’s manufacturer. However, the law does require that children use a car seat until they reach at least 60 pounds or until they are 6 years old, whichever comes first.

Children who are older than six years old or weigh more than 60 pounds are required to use a booster seat until they reach 15 years of age. The booster seat must be used properly, with the lap belt fitting snugly across the child’s thighs and the shoulder belt crossing the chest and resting over the shoulder. Considering the safety benefits offered by booster seats, parents and caregivers are encouraged to keep their children in a booster seat for as long as possible.

Fines and Penalties for Noncompliance

The penalty for violating Arkansas’ new car seat laws can result in a fine of up to $100 dollars. However, this fine can be waived if the driver is able to provide documentation that they have obtained a car seat for their child within 10 days of the citation.

To ensure the adequate enforcement of these new laws, Arkansas law enforcement officials will be able to pull over a vehicle if they notice that a child is not properly secured in a car seat. This means that not only will drivers be fined for non-compliance, they can also be stopped by police more frequently if their child safety seats do not meet state standards.

Furthermore, Arkansas’ new law states that children under the age of six cannot ride in the front seat. Failure to comply with this provision can also result in a fine of up to $100.


Arkansas’ new car seat laws are designed to ensure that children are properly restrained while traveling in a vehicle. These laws aim to prevent injuries and fatalities that often result from accidents involving children who are not safely secured in a car seat or booster seat. Although it may seem like a tedious task to ensure that children are seating correctly in a car seat, the potential dangers of not securing them are far too great.

As a caregiver or parent, you have the responsibility to follow the laws and ensure that the children in your vehicle are properly secured according to the guidelines set by the state of Arkansas. Proper car seat installation and correct usage are essential to keep children safe and free from harm. It is important for all caregivers and parents to understand the new laws related to car seats and to remain vigilant in implementing and enforcing these regulations.

Semantic Keywords

  • Arkansas Car Seat Laws
  • Rear-Facing Car Seat
  • Booster Seat
  • Child Safety Seat
  • Car Seat Law Fines
  • Proper Car Seat Installation
  • Car Seat Usage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *